RESEARCH UNIT FOR THE Study of Society, Law And Religion (Russlr)



Conference Announcement "Cultural and Religious Freedom under a bill of rights" Canberra: 13–15 August, 2009

The University of Adelaide Research Unit for the Study of Society, Law and Religion (RUSSLR), in conjunction with other local and international institutions, will hold a major conference from 13 to 15 August, 2009 in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory.

The topic, "Cultural and Religious Freedom under a bill of rights", is highly relevant to the current debate in Australia on a bill or charter of rights.

The conference will examine the implications for cultural and religious freedom of the proposed bill from the perspectives of legislators and policy makers, religious and community groups, academics and the judiciary.

Participants include judges, leading academics, community leaders, theologians and other experts in law and religion from Australasia, America, Asia and Europe.

If you are interested in presenting a paper or attending the conference, we invite you to email

Peter Burdon, RUSSLR Research Assistant, at peter.d.burdon@adelaide.edu.au

Closing date for the submission of 500-word abstracts is 15 June, 2009.

For regularly updated conference information, see: www.adelaide.edu.au/lawandreligion/conference_2009

Confirmed speakers include:

Hon. Sir Anthony Mason, AC KBE Former Chief Justice, High Court of Australia

Hon. Judge J Clifford Wallace Emeritus Chief Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Hon. Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani Supreme Court of Pakistan

Hon. Justice Grant Hammond New Zealand Court of Appeal

Rex Ahdar University of Otago

Ameer Ali Murdoch University

Robert Blitt University of Tennessee

Alan Cadwallader Australian Catholic University

Carolyn Evans University of Melbourne Conrad Gershevitch Australian Human Rights Commission

Bruce Kaye Charles Sturt University

lan Leigh Durham University

John Moses St Mark's National Theological Centre

Patrick Parkinson University of Sydney

Frank Ravitch Michigan State University

Paul Rishworth University of Auckland

Charles Russo University of Dayton

Brett Scharffs Brigham Young University





BYU





