Book Prize 2009-2010

The ATF Lynlea Rodger ATF Theological Book Prize for books published in 2009 or 2010 was judged in 2011 and awarded in early 2012.

2010 Lynlea Rodger ATF Press Theological Book Prize


The Chair of ATF (Australia) Ltd and ATF Press, Associate Professor Paul Babie, has announced the winner of the 2010 Lynlea Rodger ATF Press Theological Book Prize. This Prize is for the most outstanding Theological Book authored by a theologian in the Australasian region. It is the fifth time the Prize has been awarded.

As selected by the Judges Panel from the eleven books submitted for the Prize published in either 2009 or 2010, the recipient of the Lynlea Rodger ATF Press Theological Book Prize for 2010 is Rev Dr Ormond Rush, Associate Professor, Australian Catholic University, Brisbane, for his book The Eyes of Faith: The Sense of the Faithful and the Church’s Reception of Revelation. The book was published in 2009 by Catholic University of America Press.

Associate Professor Babie said that the Judges Panel, made up of eminent theologians, considered Rev Dr Rush’s ‘outstanding’, and an ‘extensive exploration of the action of the Spirit and human receptivity in divine revelation, exploring the action of the Spirit in Scripture, Church tradition and history, theology’. The Judges Panel found that the ‘exploration of the human receptivity of divine revelation as the action of the Spirit made the book stand out from all those submitted’. In sum, the book was ‘a fine work of analysis and synthesis of the Spirit’s action in and human reception of divine revelation, and is clearly argued and readable. The book has an admirable breadth of scholarship, and is well-referenced.’

Associate Professor Babie thanked the Judges for their time in assessing the books submitted. He noted that this is the third time the Book Prize has been awarded to a staff member of Australian Catholic University, Professor Anne Hunt (presently Executive Dean of the Faculty of Theology and Philosophy) (2007) and Rev Dr Alan Cadwallader (Canberra) (2009) being the previous recipients.

Having warmly congratulated Rev Dr Rush on his achievement, Associate Professor Babie concluded: ‘The ATF, which celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2012, believes very strongly in the importance of the Book Prize as recognition of outstanding theological writing in Australasia. As the only Book Prize for theological work in this region, the ATF is committed to its continuation as a part of its contribution to theological debate. As of 2011 the Prize will now be awarded biannually’

The Prize will be awarded to Rev Dr Rush at a ceremony in Brisbane soon.

Previous Winners of the Lynlea Rodger ATF Press Theological Book Prize:

Rev Dr Dorothy Lee, (2005)
Rev Dr Denis Edwards, (2006)
Dr Anne Hunt, (2007)
Rev Dr Gary Bouma, (2008)
Rev Dr Alan Cadwallader, (2009)

For Media Contact: Hilary Regan 0411876099

Australasian Theological Forum Ltd
Ph: (08) 83542299
Fax: (08)83542399
Mobile: 0411876099

Street Address
26 Clark Street
SA, 5034

Postal Address
PO Box 504
South Australia 5007

ABN : 90 116 359 963

Visitor Counter by Digits
Visitors since February 2007.
WebCounter provided by